IFLA announces Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award 2014

The International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA), which represents the worldwide profession of Landscape Architecture, proudly announced today that Professor Sun Xiao Xiang of Peoples Republic of China is the worthy winner of the Landscape Architects’ premier award for 2014, the Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award.
Sun Xiao Xiang is recognised as an integral influence within the first generation of “modern” Landscape Architects in China. He became an individual member of IFLA before the Chinese association received IFLA membership.
In 1946 Sun Xiao Xiang received his bachelor of Agriculture in Landscape Design at the department of Horticulture in Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China In the 50s he studied architecture at the Nanjing University, including drawing and oil painting under Professor Xu Beihong from 1944-1952. His career spans over 60 years where he clearly has had a unique and lasting impact on the development of Landscape Architecture and its education in China.
Sun Xiao Xiang is a very influential pioneering Landscape Architect and Educator in China who continues to deliver lectures to enthusiastic freshmen and post graduate students at the school of Landscape Architecture, Beijing Forestry University. He has been teaching continually since 1946, with the exception of the Cultural Revolution and is always eager to recommend post graduate Chinese students to go abroad to get a broader view of the profession.
Professor Sun’s writings have been most influential within Chinese Landscape Architecture, including his book ”Garden Art and Landscape Design” which was first published in 1962 and has been updated until 1992.
He states that a landscape architect should have “5 legs”; one for poetry, one as a painter, one as a horticulturist, one for ecology and one for architecture. Never mind East or West, classical or modern, abstract or realistic, but it has to beautiful, and people will like it, is another of his important statements that has inspired many students.
Professor Sun has designed seven large botanical gardens from the colder northern Chinese provinces to the tropical south and his newest project is under construction (2014).
Sun Xiao Xiang continues to make an outstanding contribution to Landscape Architecture through his life-long commitment to his chosen profession. His achievement in all aspects of Landscape Architecture, landscape design, research and landscape education has been no less then phenomenal. Sun Xiao Xiang life long achievement is an example for everybody to follow and he is a most worthy recipient of this year’s IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award.
The IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award is the highest honour that the International Federation of Landscape Architects can bestow upon a landscape architect. The
Award recognizes a living landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of society and the environment and on the promotion of the profession of landscape architecture. The award is bestowed annually on an academic, public or private practitioner whose
work and achievements are respected internationally.
The IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award was launched in 2004 on a quadrennial basis. Its inaugural recipient was Peter Walker (USA) in 2005. Prof. Bernard Lassus (France) was awarded in 2009, Cornelia Hahn Oberlander in 2011, Mihály Möcsényi in 2012, 2013 Gonçalo Ribeiro Telles and for 2014 Sun Xiao Xiang. Since 2011 the award has been bestowed annually.
Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe (1910 – 1996), IFLA President of Honour, served IFLA as its founding President from 1948 – 1954. He was a trained architect, town planner,
landscape architect and garden designer, but his prime interest was in landscape and garden design. Jellicoe was a founding member (1929) and then President of the Institute of Landscape Architects (now the LI) and was knighted for services to landscape architecture in 1979. In 1994, he was given the Royal Horticultural
Society’s highest award, the Victoria Medal of Honour.
The IFLA President, Desiree Martinez, will make the announcement in the Award Ceremony June 4, during the 2014 IFLA World Congress in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The winner will present a lecture as part of the ceremony. 
There will be a press conference with the award winner and the IFLA President in Buenos Aires, June 4, 2014.
The announcement will be made online at www.iflaonline.org by June 10, 2014.
The 2014 SGJA International Jury was chaired by Jenny B. Osuldsen (Norway) and comprised: Carey Duncan (Morocco), Diana Wiesner (Colombia) Greg Grabasch (Australia) and Fritz Auweck (Germany)