The IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Awardis the highest honor that the International Federation of Landscape Architects can bestow upon a landscape architect. The Award recognises a living landscape architect whose achievements and contributions have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of society and the environment and on the promotion of the profession of landscape architecture. The award is bestowed annually on an individual whose work and achievements merit this recognition.

The annual award is open to landscape architects throughout the world. The nominee must be an academic, public or private practitioner whose merit, talent and actions are respected internationally. Accomplishments may be in such aspects of the profession as landscape planning, design or management; improvement in the quality of human settlements or environments; or landscape architectural education.

Nomination of Candidates
Candidates may be nominated by IFLA Member Associations, delegates, individual members and allied organizations, as well as independent sources.

Nomination Information
Nominations must include the following information:

a. A letter of nomination describing the nominee’s qualifications for the award, including his/her academic background and achievements, a summary of his/her work and its scope, and a review of the way that this work has contributed to the profession of landscape architecture and its international practice. This should include the nominee’s education and highlights of his/her experience in teaching and lecturing, research/ innovation, practice, professional organizations, publishing, and any other international pursuits. The letter must be no more than three pages in length. (See Nomination Committee below for additional information to be requested from final candidates for the Award.)

b. A letter of support, including confirmation that nominee is a member in good standing, from the nominee’s member association, or a letter of reference from another source attesting to the fact that the candidate is qualified to work in the field of landscape architecture, and that the documents presented are a true reflection of the candidate’s contribution to the profession,must be submitted if someone other than the member association is the nominator.

c. Contact information for both the nominator(s) and nominee, including name, address, email address and phone contact information.

d. All nomination material must be submitted in English.

Submission of Nominations – Due TBC 

Nominations for the Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award must be submitted electronically to the Administrative Headquarters of the International Federation of Landscape Architects in care of:

Sally Robertshaw
IFLA Executive Secretary
International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA)
admin@iflaonline.org     Tel: +32 498 464769

Candidate Selection
The award recipient will be identified through a nomination and jury selection process.

In agreeing to be nominated, candidates must also agree to present a lecture on their work at the IFLA World Congress, and/or other suitable fora, in the event of winning the award, and that they are willing to travel to the 2018 IFLA World Congress in Singapore, Canada July 18-22 2018 to accept the award. A candidate may be nominated for the award up to three times in succeeding years, and may be nominated again after a break of two years.

Nomination Committee
The Nomination Committee includes landscape architects from all five regions of IFLA, who represent the range of academic, public and private practice and have a thorough knowledge of the profession, its key practitioners, and international practice.

The Nomination Committee initiates a search for an appropriate candidate by soliciting nominations from IFLA World Council members, member associations and independent sources. The Committee also develops nominations to help ensure a broad range of qualified nominees for consideration as final candidates.

After the Nomination Committee agrees on a list of suitable final candidates for the Award, it will seek the agreement of each candidate to be so nominated, and then obtain additional information supporting their nomination from them. This supporting information should include: (1) the nominee’s Education, and experience in Teaching and Lecturing, Research/innovation, and Practice as a landscape architect, Professional Organizations, Publishing, and any other International pursuits in list form under each topic – max. 5 pages, and (2) graphics of work, such as projects, and a personal photo – max. 3 pages. The final confidential list of candidates and their initial and supporting submittals are then supplied to the Awards Jury, which selects the recipient of the award. The Committee also submits a report on the Nominees and the Nominations process to the IFLA President and the Awards Jury.

Awards Jury
The Awards Jury comprises 5-7 members – a Chair and at least one member from each region of IFLA. The World Council may appoint a “Guest Member” from an allied profession for a one year term. The Jury adopts its own working procedures, establishing criteria for assessment in terms of the purpose of the Award and the categories of nominations. Upon completion of their work, the Jury submits a written report to the IFLA President. The report and its result remain confidential until the award winner has been officially announced by the IFLA President at the 2018 IFLA World Congress.

Procedure for the Award
The Award recipient will be notified by the IFLA President and invited to attend the IFLA World Congress, where the winner will be announced, the Award will be presented, and the winner will make a presentation of his/her work at a suitable function in conjunction with the Congress. The content of the presentation will be made available for IFLA use.

For More information
Questions regarding the award or the nomination and selection process should be directed to:

Gareth Doherty
Committee Chair, IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award
+1 (617) 496 4500


Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe: 1900 - 1996


The award commemorates the outstanding contributions to IFLA of the President of Honour Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe of Great Britain who served IFLA as founding President from 1948-1954. Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe was a leading landscape architect with a career spanning almost seventy years. Born in 1900, he was a trained architect but his prime interest was in landscape and garden design. Jellicoe’s rich career enabled the creation of many inspiring projects, from Cheddar Gorge to the Kennedy Memorial at Runneymede, thought to be one of his greatest works. He was a founding member (1929) and then President of the British Institute of Landscape Architects (the ILA – now the LI) and was knighted for services to landscape architecture in 1979. In 1994, he was awarded the Royal Horticultural Society’s highest honour, the Victoria Medal of Honour.